ItGirl World UK
  • Home
  • Books
  • THE GIRLS by Lisa Jewell – Book Review
Books

THE GIRLS by Lisa Jewell – Book Review

 

The Girls by Lisa Jewell is not the type of book I would usually pick up, I tend to go for  books with a girly, pretty, chicklit style cover, but on reading the synopsis I was intrigued and wanted to know more…So I read it.

Here is my review.

As I said before, it’s not my usual type of book, so to be honest it took about 3 chapters in for me to really get hooked, but once in…I couldn’t put it down!

It’s a thrilling read, it’s so well written you’ll feel like you know the characters really well, as if they your real neighbours, probably even better than that!

As you open the book you will find a drawn map of ‘The Garden’ which really comes in handy during the read, especially when you are piecing together each character’s whereabouts later on.

Firstly, we are introduced to Pip and what she discovers in the garden, then Chapter One starts with a letter from Pip to her Dad and then we are introduced to Adele and her family.

The story is a told from the view points of 11yr old Pip, her Mother, Clare and their neighbour, Adele.

My favourite parts were probably reading from Pip’s viewpoint, as she views everything with innocent child eyes, although this is an adult book.

Clare, Pip and Grace have newly moved onto the garden and as the girls navigate the complicated social scene, Clare, their mother has her own issues to deal with and decisions to make. I found Pip to be a really sensible little girl, with great love for her sister Grace, who is a tween, on the cusp of turning into a stroppy teenager full of hormones and mood swings. I also really love the inter-generational friendship between neighbour, Rhea & Pip.

I like Clare, she is doing her best to be a good mother and protect her girls, but has trouble coming to terms to with her own feelings to make any objective decisions for the family, like most of us, I suppose.

Adele is a lovely mum  with an original way of doing things, not one to conform, I like that about her, her husband Leo is an intriguing character, my opinion of him changed so many times throughout the book that I really couldn’t make my mind up about him – there are so many questions regarding Leo and his intentions…but all is revealed.

The story takes us through the background of a quite a few of the characters and the history regarding an incident that happened many years ago, this is all inter-weaved into the current storyline.

This book really makes you think about how well you know your child(ren), particularly as a Mother myself, I am left pondering this…

The book is written so well, I really feel for the characters, the story builds nicely with lots of detail and it quickly becomes exciting! At the end it really feels like it needs a sequel…please Lisa…pretty please xx

An addictive read – well worth picking up! I must read more books from Lisa Jewell very soon.

Chanel 🙂

© copyright Jascha
Lisa Jewell   © copyright Jascha

Reviewed by Chanel Williams

Buy  or Download a copy 

Related posts

71 comments

achat bache banderole 17th May 2016 at 12:17 pm

Bonjour ! LOL ! J’aime bien comme site

camping car occasion vaud 17th May 2016 at 11:47 am

Bonjour ! tiens c’est sympa comme site

Klik 17th May 2016 at 10:23 am

Very good blog. Please read something mine. See you!

Study Law 17th May 2016 at 7:51 am

Thank you so much for giving everyone a very marvellous chance to read from this blog. It’s always very great and as well , jam-packed with a great time for me and my office friends to visit your web site really 3 times in a week to learn the newest secrets you have. And definitely, I’m usually impressed considering the incredible suggestions you give. Some 2 areas on this page are undoubtedly the very best we have all had.

Car Paint 17th May 2016 at 7:50 am

Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you really realize what you are speaking about! Bookmarked. Please additionally visit my site =). We may have a hyperlink trade arrangement among us!

Furniture Warehouse 17th May 2016 at 7:45 am

I think other web site proprietors should take this site as an model, very clean and fantastic user friendly style and design, as well as the content. You’re an expert in this topic!

Engine Repair 17th May 2016 at 7:29 am

Whats up very cool web site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also¡KI am satisfied to search out so many helpful info here in the post, we need work out more strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

Related Site 17th May 2016 at 3:43 am

Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.|

Educational Games  17th May 2016 at 1:38 am

I keep listening to the news speak about receiving boundless online grant applications so I have been looking around for the best site to get one. Could you tell me please, where could i get some?

Last Minute Flights  17th May 2016 at 1:37 am

I have been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this website. Thanks , I will try and check back more often. How frequently you update your web site?

Computer Virus 17th May 2016 at 12:58 am

I’ve been surfing on-line greater than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is beautiful value sufficient for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the internet can be a lot more useful than ever before.

vip print 17th May 2016 at 12:12 am

I always spent my half an hour to read this website’s posts every day along with a mug of coffee.|

future technology 16th May 2016 at 10:39 pm

Awsome website! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also

red nose day games 16th May 2016 at 10:21 pm

I admire the useful facts you offer inside your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and also have my children verify up here often. I’m very positive they’ll learn a lot of new issues right here than anybody else!

dietista barcelona 16th May 2016 at 9:44 pm

I enjoy blogging when it truly is for or about something I believe in. I also read news blogs often and find that it makes me feel much much more intelligent every time I read them. I also feel like I am a pretty great person who tries to treat others with respect, no matter what their view is. You’ll find some real haters out there. Thanks once more. I learned a few issues about blogging. I will undoubtedly put your site on my speed dial.

club flyer address 16th May 2016 at 9:17 pm

Sweet blog! I discovered it although searching on Yahoo News. Do you’ve got any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a even though but I never seem to get there! Thanks

Moses Mckerley 16th May 2016 at 8:56 pm

Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I am very glad to see such great info being shared freely out there.

mattress reviews 16th May 2016 at 8:00 pm

Thing is, I’ve just migrated to WordPress. However, I have a number of people who have subscribed to my feeds from my blogger blog. What should I do to ensure that they now receive updates from my WordPress blog? . . FYI, I have a feedburner account..

Tom 16th May 2016 at 7:54 pm

Happy to visit your page:-). Good post, looking for more. Best regards

print vip 16th May 2016 at 6:48 pm

Have you ever thought about publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.|

printingvip.com 16th May 2016 at 5:10 pm

Amazing things here. I’m very satisfied to peer your article. Thanks so much and I am looking forward to contact you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?|

for sale by owner  16th May 2016 at 10:36 am

I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I’m hoping the same high-grade site post from you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own website now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a great example of it.

Football Helmets 16th May 2016 at 10:31 am

I am so happy to read this. This is the kind of manual that needs to be given and not the random misinformation that’s at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this greatest doc.

Legal Aid 16th May 2016 at 10:25 am

Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

Best Law Schools 16th May 2016 at 7:06 am

Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

Best Car 16th May 2016 at 6:00 am

It¡¦s actually a great and helpful piece of info. I am glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

Accounting  16th May 2016 at 5:59 am

Wonderful site. Plenty of useful info here. I¡¦m sending it to a few buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks in your effort!

Womens Health 16th May 2016 at 5:36 am

There is noticeably a bunch to know about this. I believe you made certain nice points in features also.

Car Engines 16th May 2016 at 5:10 am

I like what you guys are up too. Such intelligent work and reporting! Carry on the excellent works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my site 🙂

Kids Bedroom Furniture  16th May 2016 at 4:53 am

Hello.This post was extremely motivating, especially because I was investigating for thoughts on this topic last week.

Womens Health 16th May 2016 at 4:52 am

I enjoy you because of all your efforts on this web site. My mum really likes setting aside time for internet research and it’s easy to see why. A lot of people hear all concerning the lively tactic you render useful strategies through this blog and therefore welcome contribution from other people about this article while our favorite simple princess is in fact understanding a great deal. Take advantage of the rest of the new year. You have been conducting a stunning job.

HVAC  16th May 2016 at 4:46 am

whoah this weblog is great i really like studying your posts. Stay up the good work! You recognize, a lot of people are looking around for this information, you could aid them greatly.

Smart Car Safety 16th May 2016 at 4:38 am

Excellent weblog here! Also your web site a lot up very fast! What web host are you using? Can I get your associate hyperlink on your host? I want my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

Auto Parts 16th May 2016 at 4:36 am

Hello.This article was really motivating, particularly since I was investigating for thoughts on this issue last Saturday.

Consulting  16th May 2016 at 4:32 am

I have read some just right stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much effort you set to make such a wonderful informative website.

Personal Finance  16th May 2016 at 4:31 am

Terrific work! This is the type of information that are meant to be shared around the web. Shame on Google for no longer positioning this publish upper! Come on over and visit my website . Thank you =)

check this out 16th May 2016 at 3:56 am

thanks for this post

top mattresses 2016 16th May 2016 at 12:42 am

How can I install WordPress without losing all the indexed html pages?

Seo Link Building 16th May 2016 at 12:13 am

Thank you so much for providing individuals with remarkably marvellous opportunity to discover important secrets from this blog. It’s always so pleasurable plus stuffed with a great time for me and my office mates to search your site the equivalent of thrice per week to find out the fresh tips you will have. Not to mention, I am always contented concerning the gorgeous tips and hints you serve. Some 3 tips in this posting are essentially the very best I’ve had.

http://printingvip.beep.com 16th May 2016 at 12:10 am

This will be the proper weblog should you actually wants to look at this subject. That you are aware of a lot its virtually challenging to argue along with you (not too I just would want…HaHa). You surely put a different spin on the topic thats been written about for a long time. Outstanding stuff, just wonderful!

emotional intelligence test 16th May 2016 at 12:10 am

I consider something actually special in this internet site.

emotional intelligence test 15th May 2016 at 11:19 pm

I am glad to be one of the visitors on this great website (:, appreciate it for posting .

traffic school 15th May 2016 at 2:54 pm

cool page , bookmarked.

Painters  15th May 2016 at 10:45 am

Hey very nice web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally¡KI am glad to find a lot of helpful info here within the submit, we need develop extra strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

power washing services in Middlebury 15th May 2016 at 6:57 am

I would like to consider the ability of thanking you for the expert advice I’ve often enjoyed going to your web site. I will likely be searching forward towards the actual commencement of my college research and the general prep would never have been complete without coming to your internet site. If I could be of any support to others, I would be glad to help by means of what I’ve gained from here. Kosova Airlines

emotional intelligence 15th May 2016 at 6:20 am

It can be tough to write about this topic. I think you did an superb job though! Thanks for this!

Legal Aid 15th May 2016 at 6:18 am

Well I really liked reading it. This article offered by you is very useful for accurate planning.

Programming 15th May 2016 at 5:23 am

It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things or advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

Golf Lesson 15th May 2016 at 5:22 am

It is in point of fact a nice and helpful piece of information. I¡¦m glad that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Best Web Hosting 15th May 2016 at 5:16 am

I think this is among the most important information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

Maria34 15th May 2016 at 12:41 am

How do you find time to post gems like this all the time?

Fonda Garlovsky 14th May 2016 at 5:24 pm

A person necessarily help to make seriously posts I would state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and to this point? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular post incredible. Magnificent job!

Medical Education 14th May 2016 at 2:51 pm

Everything is very open with a precise description of the challenges. It was truly informative. Your site is very useful. Thank you for sharing!

Bus Tours 14th May 2016 at 1:07 pm

Thanks , I’ve recently been looking for info about this topic for a long time and yours is the best I’ve found out till now. However, what concerning the bottom line? Are you certain about the source?

Digital Camera 14th May 2016 at 12:34 pm

Hi my loved one! I want to say that this post is awesome, great written and include approximately all important infos. I would like to see more posts like this .

Cheap Flights  14th May 2016 at 12:21 pm

fantastic points altogether, you just received a emblem new reader. What could you suggest about your submit that you simply made some days ago? Any positive?

Legal Assistants 14th May 2016 at 12:20 pm

Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is actually a tremendous site.

Point Blank Body Armor 14th May 2016 at 12:19 pm

I wanted to draft you the tiny remark to be able to thank you so much over again regarding the magnificent pointers you have contributed above. It’s so shockingly generous with people like you to present publicly all that a few individuals could have supplied for an ebook to earn some money for themselves, principally considering the fact that you could possibly have done it in case you considered necessary. The guidelines in addition acted like a fantastic way to realize that the rest have similar interest really like my own to figure out significantly more regarding this matter. I’m sure there are numerous more pleasant occasions up front for folks who take a look at your website.

emotional intelligence 14th May 2016 at 12:17 pm

Thanks for the information provided! I was researching for this write-up for a long time, but I was not able to see a dependable source.

Real Estate Commission 14th May 2016 at 4:17 am

Simply want to say your article is as surprising. The clearness in your post is simply great and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

Spectrum Health 14th May 2016 at 4:14 am

you are truly a excellent webmaster. The website loading pace is amazing. It seems that you’re doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a great job in this subject!

Rustic Home Decor 14th May 2016 at 4:13 am

you’re actually a excellent webmaster. The website loading speed is amazing. It seems that you’re doing any distinctive trick. In addition, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a great task in this subject!

best mattress in 2016 13th May 2016 at 9:30 pm

I want to start a newspaper online and need to register the name and the content. Need to do it internationally. However, not a clue how to do it… I’ve already got a domain, but the title would be slightly different from the domain name..

Engine Repair 13th May 2016 at 7:17 pm

Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

london tantric 13th May 2016 at 6:17 pm

Hi there! This post could not be written much better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept talking about this. I most certainly will send this post to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a great read. Thank you for sharing!

dyson airblade 13th May 2016 at 3:36 pm

What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have
discovered It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out loads.

I am hoping to contribute & aid different users like its
helped me. Great job.

Community Health Systems 13th May 2016 at 12:26 pm

This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

Sprawdz 12th May 2016 at 8:36 pm

I really enjoy yout article. Good job:-)!

best mattresses 2016 12th May 2016 at 8:27 pm

you might have an ideal blog right here! would you prefer to make some invite posts on my weblog?

Kliknij 12th May 2016 at 2:20 pm

You have touched some nice factors here. Any way keep up wrinting. Best regards

their explanation 7th May 2016 at 6:33 am

I just want to mention I’m newbie to weblog and actually loved this blog site. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You amazingly come with wonderful articles. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your web page.

Comments are closed.