15 49.0138 8.38624 1 1 4000 1 https://www.itgirlworld.co.uk 300 1
theme-sticky-logo-alt
theme-logo-alt

Book Blog Tour & Book Review: The Secrets of Hawthorne Place by Jenni Keer – Available to buy now

On reading the synopsis of this book, I was very intrigued by the mention of there being 2 timelines woven into the story, I have watched and loved films with this pattern of storyline, but have not read very many books like this, and wondered if I would get confused and if the story would flow as easily, like it would on a screen.

Have a read of the synopsis for yourself…

The Secrets of Hawthorn Place
Love will always find a way… Discover the intriguing secrets of Hawthorn Place in this heartfelt dual-time novel, filled with warmth and charm, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Cecelia Ahern.

Two houses, hundreds of miles apart…yet connected always.

When life throws Molly Butterfield a curveball, she decides to spend some time with her recently widowed granddad, Wally, at Hawthorn Place, his quirky Victorian house on the Dorset coast.

But cosseted Molly struggles to look after herself, never mind her grieving granddad, until the accidental discovery of an identical Art and Crafts house on the Norfolk coast offers her an unexpected purpose, as well as revealing a bewildering mystery.

Discovering that both Hawthorn Place and Acacia House were designed by architect Percy Gladwell, Molly uncovers the secret of a love which linked them, so powerful it defied reason.

What follows is a summer which will change Molly for ever…

Jenni Keer – Author Bio

Jenni Keer – Author of The Secrets of Hawthorne Place Book

Jenni Keer is a history graduate who embarked on a career in contract flooring before settling in the middle of the Suffolk countryside with her antique furniture restorer husband. She has valiantly attempted to master the ancient art of housework but with four teenage boys in the house it remains a mystery. Instead, she spends her time at the keyboard writing commercial women’s fiction to combat the testosterone-fuelled atmosphere, with her number one fan #Blindcat by her side. Much younger in her head than she is on paper, she adores any excuse for fancy-dress and is part of a disco formation dance team.
Jenni is also the author of The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker and The Unexpected Life of Maisie Meadows.

For more information about her books or to keep up to date, follow Jenni on her social channels…

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

My Thoughts

Excellent book! Well, you could probably stop reading my review now, but carry on if you’d like to know why…

Molly is heartbroken and seeks the support of her family after a break-up with her boyfriend leaves her practically homeless.

She’s not the most likeable character, she’s actually quite selfish and immature for a 24yr old, but she did grow on me as the book went on.

We follow her journey as she matures, finds love and her purpose and place in the world, which to be fair is really inspiring.

The pace of the story is really good, and is very well written, especially with the parallel timelines of 1896 and present day, it’s quite a hard book to put down and always keeping you wanting more.

There were some really heavy emotional moments in this book, but it’s not all ‘doom and gloom‘ does also have many laugh out loud moments too.

If you’re looking for a great story with some real substance – this is definitely worth reading!

Click here to grab your copy

Thanks for reading and enjoy the book!

Chanel x

Chanel Williams

The Secrets of Hawthorne Place by Jenni Keer Book Cover
Previous Post
Book Blog Tour & Book Review: The Reboot by Clodagh Murphy – Out 12th October 2021
Next Post
Film Review – BFI LFF 2021: Wild Indian – Out on all Digital Platforms – Friday 29th October 2021

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.