15 49.0138 8.38624 both 1 both 1 4000 1 0 horizontal https://www.itgirlworld.co.uk 300 4000 1
theme-sticky-logo-alt
Live Your Most Fabulous Life – A Fashion, Beauty & Lifestyle Magazine

Book Review & Blog Tour: Minnie’s Orphans by Lindsey Hutchinson

6th October 2020
I am so honoured to be a part of this book blog tour for Minnie’s Orphans by Lindsey Hutchinson. I’ve never read any books from this author before, and those who know me, know that this is not my usual genre of books. I was offered an ARC copy of the book & I volunteered...READ MORE

I am so honoured to be a part of this book blog tour for Minnie’s Orphans by Lindsey Hutchinson.

I’ve never read any books from this author before, and those who know me, know that this is not my usual genre of books. I was offered an ARC copy of the book & I volunteered to participate in the book blog tour as this book had me hooked from page one.

I’m usually drawn to contemporary romantic comedies and women’s fiction, rather than anything remotely historical, but something intrigued me after reading the synopsis…

Have a read for yourself…

Minnie’s Orphans Synopsis

Let bestselling author Lindsey Hutchinson transport you back in time to Marshall’s Children’s Home, for this heart-warming and unforgettable tale from the Black Country.

The Fitch children are finally safe, after they and their friends were rescued from the grim orphanage Reed House by Minnie and Billy Marshall. Their children’s home Marshall’s is full of love and laughter, and a world away from their terrible ordeal of being sold to Una Reed for five shillings.

There are many more children who still need a home, especially in a world where the workhouse is the last option for desperate families, and so Minnie makes it her mission to build Marshall’s into a refuge for all the waifs and strays. 

But kind hearts can be taken advantage of, and before long, Marshall’s in under attack. Can Minnie and Billy keep their family together and keep all the children safe, or will they be torn apart again? 

The Queen of the Black Country sagas is back with a heart-warming, unputdownable and unforgettable tale of triumph against the odds. Perfect for fans of Val Wood and Lyn Andrews.

Author of Minnie’s Orphans – Lindsey Hutchinson

My Thoughts

Minnie’s Orphans opens with the collection Digit, who is being welcomed home after a 5 – year stint in prison.

Although this is set in the Black Country in England, many years ago in the 19th Century, we get a real feel for the way society was back then, within the opening pages.

The book sheds a light on the extremely hierarchal class system, the lack of child protection, legal injustices etc that people faced back in then, when orphans, orphanages, and workhouses were a part of the normal fabric of English society.

Themes covered in the book include, child poverty, poverty in general, lack of social mobility, within the class system, trust issues and the human need for somewhere to call home, somewhere to belong.

I LOVED Minnie, she had a heart of gold & I hope I would be just like her, if I were living in this situation, providing a safe refuge for children who were alone and felt unloved in this world, it’s amazing how she created a real family home for them, as well as dealing with all the ‘issues’ each child brings with them, due to their backgrounds and for some, quite abusive pasts.

It’s quite sad to think of how some children were treated back then and I am so glad that as a society we aim to protect children as much as possible and have plenty of “Minnie’s” around to look after those children who are unfortunate to not have a family, are regulated by the government to ensure there are no more ‘Workhouses” in modern Britain.

This book is quite an emotional read and will definitely pull on your heartstrings, you may also shed a tear or 2.

I liked the pace of the storytelling and it is brilliantly written, and I love the style of Lindsey Hutchinson’s writing and will be checking out the rest of her books 👍

Lindsey Hutchinson is a bestselling saga author whose novels include The Workhouse Children. She was born and raised in Wednesbury, and was always destined to follow in the footsteps of her mother, the multi-million selling Meg Hutchinson.

Minnie’s Orphan’s is out nowPurchase Link – https://amzn.to/33rBCQd available in Paperback, Kindle or Audible Book Formats.

Keep up with Lindsey Hutchinson via the links below;

Newsletter sign up: http://bit.ly/LindseyHutchinsonMailingList

Twitter @ https://twitter.com/LHutchAuthor

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/Lindsey-Hutchinson-1781901985422852/

Bookbub – Bookbub: @LindseyHutchinson

Goodreads – GoodReads: Lindsey Hutchinson

Thanks for reading and enjoy the book!

Chanel x

Chanel Williams

COMMENTS 0

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.