15 49.0138 8.38624 1 1 4000 1 https://www.itgirlworld.co.uk 300 1
theme-sticky-logo-alt
theme-logo-alt
Girl-With-Secrets-book

Book Blog Tour & Book Review: Girl With Secrets by Carol Rivers

For those who know me, I love a good London based story, especially when it’s based around real historical events.

Also I love a strong female lead and Daisy in this book doesn’t disappoint.

The Synopsis

A coming of age war story and family saga full of romance, mystery and danger in London’s East End. From the Sunday Times and ebook bestselling author of the Lizzie Flowers series and A Wartime Christmas comes a gripping NEW coming-of-age saga about love, loyalties and secrets.

IN THE TURMOIL OF WAR, CAN SHE KEEP HER FAMILY TOGETHER?

‘Surely one of the best saga writers of her time’ – Rosie Clarke

1938, East London. Nine year old Daisy Purbright is a country girl at heart and together with beloved brother Bobby, they’ve enjoyed the endless freedoms of rural England.

But when her father gambles the family’s fortunes on a speculative investment in London’s docklands, Daisy and her family are swept up into the intrigue, danger and excitement.Desperately the Purbrights attempt to settle to a new life in the East End, but the whisperings of war grow louder.

Then, one late afternoon in September 1940, Adolf Hitler conducts a paralysing bombardment on London and war tightens its grip. Life changes dramatically and closely guarded secrets threaten the Purbrights’ happiness.

Can Daisy and her family survive one of the most fateful events of the 20th century?

Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Pam Howes, Rosie Clarke and Dilly Court.

Girl With secrets by carol rivers
Carol Rivers – Author of Girl With Secrets

Mum and Dad were both East Enders who were born on the famous or should I say the then infamous Isle of Dogs. Their family were immigrants who travelled to the UK from Ireland and France, while others emigrated to America.

As a child I would listen to the adults spinning their colourful stories, as my cousins and I drank pop under the table.

I know the seeds of all my stories come from those far off times that feel like only yesterday. So I would like to say a big heartfelt thank you to all my family and ancestors wherever you are now … UK, Ireland, France or America, as you’ve handed down to me the magic and love of story telling.

My Thoughts

Poor Daisy, she’s only 9yrs old and has to grow up so fast! She quickly learns that the adults around her are not so trust-worthy and she has to look out for herself and her younger siblings during the upheaval of moving from the countryside to the city and then being evacuated again during the war.

It’s a good book, that covers the themes of family, love, trust and loyalty and the escalation of World War 2 from a child’s perspective.

Definitely worth a read!

Buy the book now from:

Amazon UK

Amazon USA

Keep up with Carol and her books via her social channels;

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Pintrest

Website

Thanks for reading!

Chanel x

Chanel Williams

bfi_flare_2021
Previous Post
Preview: 35th BFI Flare Film Festival runs from 17th – 28th March 2021
the_banishing_film_review
Next Post
Review: The Banishing Film – Out on Download 26th March 2021

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.